White Bear Lake – July 10

Endearing "White Bear" Lake street sign

One of my favorite things about living in the Land of 10,000 Lakes is that there are 10,000 lakes here. Anytime I’m bored of my latest running trail or walking in my neighborhood, I just drive a few minutes and I’m at some new beautiful lake. Such was the case Sunday, July 10. After church, I took a little drive up to White Bear Lake, wandered, sat on the shore and read The Botany of Desire, and took in the scene.. What follows is several pictures of my jaunt, just because I think they’re nice.

Here's where I sat and read about Johnny Appleseed, the American Dionysus, my back against a tree that he did not plant.

Ooooh.

Ahhhh.

This picture embodies everything I love about Minnesota: greenery, lakes, patriotism, and the use of cheerful trifles to veil caverns of secrets.

Leave a comment