X-Men: First Class

I really liked this movie. A lot. I saw it twice. Once in the US and then once again in the Dominican with Spanish subtitles. (This time my roommates went to see The Hangover 2 or, Que Paso Anoche?).

Here are my thoughts about it.

James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender were super stellar as Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto). Both characters’ were dynamic and also exceptionally human. We usually see the good and bad within Magneto, but Xavier is usually a faultless white knight. In this story, he had his faults, and they made the character drama all the more believable.

Kevin Bacon made me hate him. Jennifer Lawrence, as Raven,  was an odd character that I sympathized with but also found somewhat off-putting. I loved seeing the beginning of Beast, who has always been a favorite of mine, played by Nicholas Hoult. Oh, and I loved the Hugh Jackman as Wolverine cameo. Oliver Platt had a minor role, but I’ve really loved that guy ever since Simon Birch, so I was happy to see him again.

Rose Byrne did a great job acting and was definitely likable, but the romance felt a bit forced and even out of place.

The last half of the movie was awesome and understandable, but I would have liked more development for Xavier and Magneto. The other mutants were interesting. But (with the exception of Beast and Raven) they weren’t developed enough to make me genuinely care about them, but were developed more than I thought was totally necessary. This movie brought new depth to the Xavier-Magneto relationship, and I loved it, but I felt like there was some deadweight that could have been removed to make place for that key relationhip to be further developed.

Leave a Reply

